More information – Historical Attractions Sightseeing features
The main mining centers of Maramureş County are located around the town of Baia Mare. The region is known not only for the underground riches but also for the surroundings that give the place a special beauty.
The town of Baie Mare has appeared on the urban settlements map as a result of non-ferrous ore exploitation activity. The history of the municipality records the first city map, the document of May 29, 1329, with which King Carol Robert (1301-1342) donated to the Corrardus Municipal Council, as county of Baia Mare and Baia Sprie, the forest between the two settlements so that this area is populated.
Located on Jbar Hill in Barsana, the monastery was built by order of Voivode Dragoş and is located on his land.
The monastery has spectacular architecture. The whole building is made of wood and the height of the church is 57 meters. The paintings were made on pieces of textile that were attached to the walls and then covered with a layer of lime. They date from 1806.
The wooden church in Ieud
Built by a noble family at the beginning of the 17th century, this church was one of the oldest wooden churches in Maramures.
The church has a Byzantine painting painted on wood by the painter Alexandru Ponehalschi in 1782. In the church there are old wooden icons and icons painted on glass.
The oldest Romanian manuscript “The Chronicles of Ieud”, a manuscript of inestimable value, is kept here.
It is the last steam train through the forest and unique in the world. It is so famous that tourists would come to Maramures just to ride Mocanita.
The route is a particular and fascinating one that allows you to admire wild and natural landscapes in all their splendor throughout the journey.
The first to enter the primeval forests and start work on the railway in 1932 were the German-speaking settlers.